🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

New to angelscript

Started by
5 comments, last by Marianne 17 years, 10 months ago
Hi, i'm new to AngelScript... i am looking for a scripting language to embed into my C/C++ app. I'm mostly working on mac and linux. Unfortunately, almost all provided samples use "windows.h"... is there a minimal cross-platform sample? just to demonstrate how it works... thanks =) PS: i've seen the documentation on angelcode.com but i couldn't find any that creates a whole program. they all seem to focus on a specific part of the program and leave me with no clue of how to do a whole program
Advertisement
The windows.h header is usually only used for timeGetTime(), which returns the number of milliseconds since system start. Both Linux and Mac should have a similar function that you could use instead.

If you could tell me which it is, I could make the samples OS independent.

Also, the console sample doesn't use windows.h, so maybe that will work without any changes.

Regards,
Andreas

AngelCode.com - game development and more - Reference DB - game developer references
AngelScript - free scripting library - BMFont - free bitmap font generator - Tower - free puzzle game

Yes, Console works. but, from it, i can't figure out how to make a simple angelcode script that uses objetcs/functions declared from C/C++... i guess i'll try working with the tutorial, but as i said i have absolutely no angelcode knowledge and fixing things you don't know about is sometimes a little hard =) But im sure i can do it... what i meant is that it would have been nice to have these simple samples, but if i don't have them i can still manage i believe

and conio.h isn't found either, i don't know what this is

EDIT: I Adapted the turorial example the best i can, but at linking i get these: