🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

write to memory address..need help..

Started by
3 comments, last by WitchLord 16 years, 8 months ago
hi..noob newbie here ;-) I found in the api reference the asIBinaryStream but I don't know how to use it... I want to do this.. I have an address (I.E. 0x12345678 ) that store a floating point value..In my app,when a key is pressed,it should change the value in that address.. what's the right syntax to use ?? ( please use the example address as a reference..I'm italian..I need clear things :-P ) if you need other informations....I'm using an 3d engine that use angelscript..I need to modify the friction of an object according to the torque provided to make a realistic behaviour cause the friction in this engine can only be set once and cannot be altered in any other way..while (in the reality) the friction changes according to many factors(speed,degrees angles of the object and so on...) ..that's all ;-) another question...is it possible that the script that will alter the address value realtime could crash the app ?? Best Regards - the noob :-P
Advertisement
The asIBinaryStream interface is not what you want. That is used for storing/restoring compiled bytecode.

If you want the script to be able to modify the value of the friction variable, then you'll have to register the friction variable as a property with the engine. Example:

// Register the address as a global property to give access to itfloat *ref = 0x12345678; // See, I'm using your address ;)engine->RegisterGlobalProperty("float friction", ref);// Now the script can access the property, just // as any other global variable in the scriptengine->ExecuteScript(0, "friction = 3.141592f");