🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Computing Science Degree?

Started by
3 comments, last by Sturm5 14 years, 7 months ago
Hello, I am currently a student at the University of Alberta and enrolled in Arts. I was thinking of going into business but I recently found out that one can major in Computing Science as a Bachelor of Sciences degree. I am wondering if getting a Bachelors in Science with a Computing Science degree is sufficient to enter the Video Game industry from an educational standpoint, or whether I really do need to go to a game design school, as I have been reading on most sites I come across on Google. Also, would there be an advantage to pursuing a Masters degree after the BSc? Thank-you!
Advertisement
Quote: Original post by Sturm5
1. I am wondering if getting a Bachelors in Science with a Computing Science degree is sufficient
2. or whether I really do need to go to a game design school,
3. as I have been reading on most sites I come across on Google.
4. Also, would there be an advantage to pursuing a Masters degree after the BSc?

1. Read FAQ 49.
2. Read Regular college vs. game school
More about regular college vs. game school
And still more about regular college vs. game school
Appearances don't matter as much as you think
3. Then stop reading those websites! They're BAD websites!
4. Nobody can foretell your future for you. Go for the Masters if you want to and are able. Don't go for it if you don't want to but are able. Don't go for it if you want to but cannot, Young Jedi!

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

If you want to be a game programmer, then computer science is a good idea.

If you want to be a designer, then design school is a good idea.