🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Master vs. Junior Programmer

Started by
8 comments, last by Tom Sloper 14 years, 2 months ago
Hi everyone, I read a lot about the choice whether to do a Bachelor or doing it by yourself here. But I didnt find a suitable topic about how important a Master-Degree really is. In a few months I'll get my Bachelor-Degree in Computer Science and although I'm actually sure that I want in the industry, there still is a good opportunity of getting a Master-Degree in less than three years. First I have to say: I am from Germany. Right after school at the age of 19 I started studying Computer Science and in the age of 23 I will complete it. In this time I learned a lot (but of course not enough) about c++-Programming and I visited several GameDevelopment-Courses. Playing games is my passion since I was about five years old and after my experiences in studying I am now certain that game development is the thing I want to do. What I DID NOT learn was how to differ which parts of my studies are really important. For now, I want to go in the industry in order to yield some important practical experiences for at least a six month internship. Staying at my university and continue studying for the Master-Degree would be easy and comfortable. But I have serious doubts about how profitable that would be, because I visited every game development course there is available and I think three years of work experience would be more profitable. Besides, I dont want that easy and comfortable way because nothing worth having comes easy. Another idea would be a GameDevelopment-specific university, but I definitly cannot afford that - neither in the U.S. nor in Germany. How common is it to do your master while (or in between) you are working? Is there any financial aid possible? I read a few le