🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Internship in a Non-Game development startup

Started by
1 comment, last by Atrix256 14 years, 2 months ago
Hi, I'm a second year CSE student from India and have got an internship in a Web Development Company(which is sort of like a startup) for the summers. I'm interested in both game development and web programming, but more in game development. However, I haven't got any internships in game development companies. My plan for the future is to have my own game development startup in which I'll be coding mobile/online games. Would it be a good idea to join this internship(even though its related to web programming), to get an idea of what startups are like, or should I stay at home and develop games on my own? Right now I can code platform/tile based games pretty well.
I blog here : http://lameness-prevails.com/
Advertisement
Quote: Original post by kvsingh
Would it be a good idea to join this internship(even though its related to web programming), to get an idea of what startups are like, or should I stay at home and develop games on my own?

Hmm, portfolio vs. resume...?
Experience vs. practice...?
I tell you what, this is a tricky decision. Read http://www.sloperama.com/advice/m70.htm

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

In my own experience, my first professional programming job was a small web dev startup company as well.

There were 3 of us... one was a salesman, one was the founder (who coded a lot of stuff to start out) and then me who took on all the coding responsibilities.

It was fun (mostly) and I learned a lot and I was paid 25% of the net income, but that turned out to be about 15-20k american a year which is really not that great.

My problem is i stayed there for 5 years hoping it would get better money wise but it never did.