🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Moving before Applying for a job

Started by
20 comments, last by ShinkaFudan 14 years ago
I've always wanted to be a video game programmer, ever since I laid my hands on my first Super Nintendo game. (Starfox just in case you're curious.)

But I didn't really decide to strive for that dream until very recently. As a budding video game programmer, I'm hoping anyone here has advice on what I should do in order to not only get up to the professional level, but also to GET that job. I'm currently a freshman in College, majoring in CS, and I've decided to learn as much code in my free time as possible, starting with C++.

From what I've read on various threads so far, I need to build up some kind of portfolio and create sample codes. Other than that, I'm not exactly sure what I should be concentrating on.

Unfortunately for me, I live in Las Vegas, and the only game companies here are the ones focused on gambling. I do realize that I need to move somewhere else. Are there any suggestions in places I should go? I'm currently looking at California, Texas, and Colorado, as I have either family or friends in those states.

And as for getting the interview. This will probably be more general noob question, as I've never been to an interview, but do I have to "live" in the city/town I'm applying in "before" the interview? Or is flying there a much better option? I'm hoping that flying is the better way to go, as I'm lucky enough to have a parent that is a commercial airline pilot, which means huge discounts for me.

Sorry for all the questions. I wasn't quite sure if this is the right board for these, or if I should have posted them on the "Beginners" board. Either way, I tremendously appreciate any help that you guys can give me. Thanks in advance.