🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

GDC Europe worthwhile for bootstrapping solo indie developer?

Started by
4 comments, last by way2lazy2care 14 years ago
I'm a solo independent game developer from the Netherlands, working on my first game. To give you an idea of progress, I'm hoping to have something rough but playable within a month. I'm living off savings, so my budget is close to zero.

Now it came to my attention that there is a European chapter of the GDC, mid-August in Cologne. Since I'm technically still enrolled in a university by then, I can probably get in for the student price of € 180, and with early booking of a train ticket and a cheap hostel I can probably visit GDC Europe for a total of about € 400.

I might have something playable by then that I could show to people (movies only for now, because my laptop is too crappy to run the game...). This might help generate some buzz to drive sales when I get round to releasing the game. It would also be fun to get to know other indie developers from my area. Disregarding those whose blogs I read, I do not really know any others anywhere, let alone in Europe, let alone in my own country!

Obviously, I would love to go; this is not the question. But I'm wondering: is it worth the time and money, from a business perspective? Has anyone in a similar situation been to GDC Europe, and how did they experience it? Anything else I need to consider?
Advertisement
Quote: Original post by thomastc
is it worth the time and money

Read this answer

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Thanks, there's some good info in that FAQ.