🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Game Creation Company.

Started by
6 comments, last by Obscure 13 years, 8 months ago
Hey all I am currently a sophomore in college and am about to declare my Major and minor. I want a Information Technology Major (A lot of programming math and computer stuff) with a Entrepreneurship minor. Is this what I should be going for if I want to start my own company based out of Florida? Thanks!
Regards,
Stu
Advertisement
Sounds like a good start to me. What part of Florida?
Quote: Original post by Admin God
am about to declare my Major and minor. I want a Information Technology Major (A lot of programming math and computer stuff) with a Entrepreneurship minor. Is this what I should be going for if I want to start my own company based out of Florida?

Sure, Stu. That should be fine. And if you can, an MBA afterwards -- that'd make you all the more prepared to start your own company.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Good deal! And I am not sure exactly where in Florida at the moment still deciding on that, more than likely on the gulf coast, central area. Around Sarasota. :D

Oh and also, before I start my own company should i try getting a job at Blizzard, EA or another large firm to get my feet wet and know what it takes? Im in the process of developing a GDD for a possible indie company for now to give me some experience leading a team to a simple title. Any other ideas? Thanks!
Good deal!... Oh and also, before I start my own company should i try getting a job at Blizzard, EA or another large firm to get my feet wet and know what it takes? Im in the process of developing a GDD for a possible indie company for now to give me some experience leading a team to a simple title. Any other ideas?

Yes. Read FAQ 29 (scroll up and click the tiny blue "View Forum FAQ" link).