🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Anyone from different industry

Started by
6 comments, last by drzej 13 years, 8 months ago
I have been looking to make the switch to the game dev industry for almost a year now. Ive followed the advice of making my own portfolio of personal game projects. At the moment it has just been one game and a bunch of graphics demo. I was wondering for those whom successfully switched from another industry can give me some insight and how you did it.

For me, I'm a programmer for a aerospace/defense contractor. I finished grad school a year ago and have been working for 2 years. Started as a web programmer for a small company half way thru grad school and then moved onto the big guns at my current job. I didn't decide to pursue A career in game dev until earlier this year, kind of a late bloomer.
Advertisement
Quote: Original post by unfateful
I have been looking to make the switch to the game dev industry for almost a year now. Ive followed the advice of making my own portfolio of personal game projects.

Cool. Have you read the Switching FAQ yet? (View Forum FAQ, above. If you have read it, then don't read it again.)

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Do you have any specific questions? I personally moved from shrinkwrap apps/business software into games, and all I really did was apply for a job, and that was that.

Wielder of the Sacred Wands
[Work - ArenaNet] [Epoch Language] [Scribblings]

Quote: Original post by ApochPiQ
Do you have any specific questions? I personally moved from shrinkwrap apps/business software into games, and all I really did was apply for a job, and that was that.

Did you have a personal portfolio at that time? What area of games did you went into? (ie. Infinity Ward/Blizzard Entertainment type of companies, casual games development, etc)