🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Is Full Sail a good university and...?

Started by
10 comments, last by Ravyne 13 years, 8 months ago
I am currently a student of Bits, Pilani-Dubai and am doing my B.E.(Hons) Computer science. Will be graduating in about 8 months. Am interested in getting a game programming degree. Here are the questions that i need answers too.

1) Should i do a B.E. in Game programming or M.S. in Game Programming?
2) Does the Full sail university's game programming degree have value?
3) Are there any other colleges in U.S. that are good and provide the same degrees?
4) Is getting a game programmers job difficult?

I currently have no idea how to make games, i mean proper games. I have played with Java, allegro and sdl a bit and that's it. I really like programming and am interested in game programming.

5) What else can i do additionally to improve my game programming skill?

Thanks in advance for your replies. ^_^
Advertisement
Computer Science degree trumps game degree (on paper). The thing is, most game programs aren't seen as all that reliable. Full Sail from my understanding is pretty decent overall, but if you had a CS degree and about the equivalent portfolio as someone from Full Sail or another game programming / design (especially design) then the CS grad would probably be a better candidate.

For one game programming degrees do gloss over quite a few lower level topics that can be quite essential. A quick glance at the classes required for the Game Development degree at Full Sail tells me they at least have the correct math in there (Calc and Linear) while a lot of other game programming schools only require precalc.