🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Could I make it as an algorithm programmer? Would you hire me?

Started by
11 comments, last by Aardvajk 13 years, 5 months ago
I don't have a degree, I don't have work experience, and I don't have much knowledge.

What I have is a pretty exceptional problem solving ability. I don't have a portfolio, but I will work on it. I believe I could do well in the gaming industry, or any IT stuff that requires algorithm programming/design. Does this kind of work even exist? I'm a mechanical engineer at the moment (pretty talented in it), but I'm thinking about other possibilities too. So I'm just curious.

Would anyone of you guys consider hiring me, could I be one of the few who could get a job in the industry without a degree?

You can check my signature for some stuff, maybe some of you remember my posting history.

Just wondering, I'll take a look at the FAQ:s too, of course.

Thanks for any feedback!
Advertisement

I believe I could do well in the gaming industry, or any IT stuff that requires algorithm programming/design. Does this kind of work even exist?

Not really. There's not really such a thing as an "algorithm programmer" that is one who just spends all of their time considering and directing others to implement algorithms. Obviously this is something that all engineers do and which certainly senior engineers do more of. However it is always accompanied by "writing code" and "implementing features" or at least a storied professional career that has merited you a position as "chief architect" or whatever that has earned you the role of someone who spends more time planning and directing than actually coding.