🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I'm a noob so naturally I have some questions...

Started by
6 comments, last by Tom Sloper 13 years, 3 months ago
Hello everyone. I got a couple questions...

I have always had an interest in this career field but never knew where to start. Everytime I asked someone they said to look online -.-...that only goes so far. I am in the military so they don't generally have academic counselors for this sort of thing. I need some info on where to start really. My interest is in Game Design so I know I need some programming experience but don't know which language to start with. I tried taking a class on it but my teacher was a s***head and pretty much said here's a book have fun. I found it difficult at first but started to get the hang of it until and of course I ran into some difficult areas of the subject. He did not help me so I had a very difficult time. I seem to catch on fast but have no one to look for help when I run into hiccups. Is there a program online that assists you with these things or can help me get my foot in the door so when I get outta the military I can have a portfolio started. I am currently lookin at schools to attend that can help me as well...any suggestions?
Advertisement

My interest is in Game Design so I know I need some programming experience
Designers don't need to know how to program, they need to know how to write documents, and understand what mechanics make for good fun/play.
but don't know which language to start with.[/quote]If you want to start programming, most people will probably recommend either Python or C#, as they're pretty easy to learn and there are basic game toolkits for those languages.