🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Need to know what's the best course of action of getting a job with no experience...

Started by
2 comments, last by Tom Sloper 13 years, 2 months ago
I'll keep this short, I'm graduating next may, I failed to get a internship, so I need a to acquire experience somehow. Currently I'm seeing that building a portfolio is the best choice of the matter. I'm not exactly sure what type's of things would make a good portfolio. My ultimate goal is to work at an indie company or possible start my own. But these are looong term goals. Not a big problem currently. My plan is as follows...

1. Apply for jobs (any in the CS field) while I'm in my last semester
2. Move to the states once graduated( live in Puerto Rico no jobs)
3. Find some crap job at target while still finding a job in my field to pay the bills
4. Get a job at any company that needs a programmer.
5. Slowly find a way to get into the video game world/field
6. See what happends from there...