🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Hello there!

Started by
18 comments, last by return0 12 years, 9 months ago
Hello there!

Well here i am back with some basic questions regarding where i would like to head in my gaming side!
I am pretty new to this so please bear with me.

So if i understand right, in a Gaming Development Company, there many kind of positions to be filled. I am looking to either head to the programming side of it (the guy that actually codes the game, structure) or the guy that creates the graphics (characters movements, mapping, leveling, etc).

I would like to know what are the paths to take for each if lets say i was to work with a company like Valve?
If i am not good at drawing, can i still the the "graphics"?

Also what is an artist?

I have been in the eSports industry for a long time. I know both of these positions i am looking to work on will take a LONG time to become what i am looking to be.

Any other information i should know?

Thanks you very much!
Advertisement
Bump!

Anyone??
Nobody has answered this because it is so far from the realm of reality. I can't even be sure this is a serious post.

You are telling us you have no experience and asking what an artist is and at the same time telling us you want to head a programming team for Valve? That's like saying you've never played baseball before and you need to know what a bat is - but you want to know how to play for the Yankees.

Pick a discipline, dedicate yourself and work as hard as humanly possible at it, and if you're really lucky 10 or 15 years from now, you might head a programming team for Valve.

In all seriousness though, forget AAA studios and just start learning. There are a *ton* of posts around here that will set you on the right path, just search for them.