🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Ideas for games in Italy

Started by
3 comments, last by DarklyDreaming 12 years, 8 months ago
Hello everybody!
I live in Italy and I'm italian. I hope I didn't mistake the forum. Italy is not the proper place for games industry, there aren't so many good game software firm, maybe i could say there aren't too many software house too.
I think the only way to start in Italy is the DIY way. maybe doing some Indie project and trying to work for european market.
I've a background as a web enterprise programmer, I work with java, recently i studied some essentials of Unity and i'm developing a card game with my brother, that is studying for artistic design. In the past i developed one demo of a point'n'click adventure (see signature).
I know C, C++ (basic), C# (basic), Javascript (Medium - high), Flex (Basic-Medium). I know how to use Adventure Game Studio too.
The question is: if you were me, what would you do to break into the game industry? I suggest you to imagine Italy when you think the answer, everything is different from the USA.

Thank you for your support,

Federico

Evil bay - Our new game at FourLeafGames! (Link to the game)
Link to our web site! Leave a message if you like it! - Web site

My new italian Website! - Web site

Advertisement
Ciao m3rlino. Where do you live in Italy? There are some game studios in Italy (for example there are Ubisoft and Milestone in Milan), but if you really want to have more job opportunities in the game industry you probably have to move to another country.

The question is: if you were me, what would you do to break into the game industry? I suggest you to imagine Italy when you think the answer, everything is different from the USA.