🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Please gimme a hand

Started by
4 comments, last by SebastianHandrik 12 years, 6 months ago
Greetings.

Recently figured out that getting into the industry is only possible if i actually start trying. Therefore, i just created a CL and resume, and could really use a hand here. The Internet got loads of information on this topic, and i went through most of it. Yet, im just not sure if my appliaction is good enough, and i hope some of you guys can give me a hand.

Anyway, heres the stuff. Thanks for you help guys. :)

edit: didnt include my e-mail adress as i want to avoid having it spammed.But it will be there in the final product, right above my phone number.
Advertisement
First of all, I'm a game programmer.
I have never applied to a QA position, nor have I processed applications for QA positions.
I however do know what QA does, I work with them and I have certain expectations from them.
I've also setup QA systems and instructed people on how to use them.

Writing as I read through it:
I'll be very critical, don't take offense to this.
You did a great thing in letting others read it first.

Thank you for reading my application as a QA tester within your Company. For Years I have dreamed
about becoming part of the gaming industry as a 3D Artist, but never pursued that dream because I'm
not yet good enough. Recently, after talking with developers from Sony Online Entertainment, I realized
that the best way to get a job in the industry is by starting low, and working my way up the ladder over
the years.[/quote]
This part tells me you intend to take the job only as a bridge to a different job. It tells me when given the slightest chance you're off again.
It also tells me you're insecure about your ability.