🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Can I go to university and which one?

Started by
2 comments, last by Azgur 12 years, 6 months ago
Hey, I'm still on second school now, and I'm studying [font="verdana, arial"]Humanities and social sciences. I'm wondering if this is enough to go to university and study Game Programming. I'm also wondering where and which university I should pick as I live in Belgium and there isn't any game-related thing, except DAE but that's more modelling. I'd like it to be in England, but I don't know which one is the best.[/font]
[font="verdana, arial"]
Thanks![/font]
Advertisement
You might have to skip the border to the Netherlands.

In Breda (fairly close to the border) is a university called NHTV.
They offer a Bachelor's level course called International Game Architecture and Design.
The entire course is taught in English.

I can personally recommend the programming track of the course.
Interns have gone out to companies like DICE, Funcom, Ubisoft, Lionhead.
Students have been credited on Killzone 3, Battlefield 3, Deus Ex: HR, Rayman Origins and more.

See http://made.nhtv.nl for more information, though I personally feel the site barely does justice to the level of quality the course delivers.

Feel free to ask me anything.

As a small note. I don't recommend the game design and indie game development track.
These are just your average cash cows.
These exist because the artist and programmer track lose 50% in the first year, only about 25% actually graduates.
(And that's a good thing. These courses are not for everyone. If they were, it would be a waste of your time and you wouldn't learn anything)
Remco van Oosterhout, game programmer.
My posts are my own and don't reflect the opinion of my employer.