🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Advice on choosing 3D Modeler or Game Designer

Started by
6 comments, last by sirkibble2 12 years, 4 months ago
I've been trying to focus my attention on something specific and as I throw out more fluff, I'm now at a place of trying to figure out do what I want to focus on being a game designer or 3D modeler?

My dilemma is that I enjoy both. Naturally, when I play games I don't naturally look at the graphics from a modeler point of view but from a game designer's point of view. I look at games in general from a game designer's perspective. I also enjoy leading. Not being a bossy prick but someone motivating and encouraging to team members and people I work with to create something awesome and the teamwork.

As a 3D modeler, I enjoy the creation and the finished product. I enjoy the problem-solving and the attention to detail and love the feeling of being satisfied with something. I'm not sure if there is much collaboration involved in this position but if there is, then it would be that much more enjoyable.

I also have a wife and a family but I am 25 so I'm not at then end of my life. :)

Thanks for any opinions and thoughts y'all have. Just trying to get some focus so I can sink my teeth into something.
Advertisement
Here is how I see your choice. Which can you tolerate for the next few years:

• Game Designer: Filling out spreadsheets and Powerpoint presentations all week to justify game designs you probably think (and are possibly) are horrible but your lead designer thinks are the next big thing. Then getting brow beaten by the members of your team that "your" designs can't be done.
  • 3D Modeler: Modeling rocks over and over and over again. And being told at the end of the week that you did not model enough rocks, so you have to work the weekend.