🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Can't find good freelance artists

Started by
11 comments, last by Orymus3 8 years, 10 months ago

I've been working on a project that's been in dire need of some creative help for a bit now and haven't had a lot of luck finding good artists. I'm hoping for some suggestions. I'm an artist myself and have done all of the design work up to this point, but unless I want to spend the next 10 years doing everything myself, I need some help on some art assets that I'm weak at, or don't have time to do.

(Please note, I'm not looking for applicants/resumes/portfolios - I'm just seeking management advice here.)

My game's style has been dumbed down to about half my skill level - mostly for the sake of speed and a homogenous style that's easy to replicate for other artists (or so i thought). I haven't gone around the internet begging for free work. I have a budget and I'm willing to pay for help.

Problem is: I can't find skilled artists. I've put posts up on Deviant Art, put up ads on eLance, and a few postings on pixel-art forums for GUI assets/icons. There are plenty of very talented artists, but I can rarely find anyone with the appropriate skills. I get applicants that have breathtaking amazing landscapes applying for a "i need 50 icons" gig, or realistic comic-book artists applying for a "cartoony character concept" gig. Of course, the "talented" pool is maybe 10-20% of the artists. A lot just have awful work.