Advertisement

First steps

Started by November 27, 2017 11:26 AM
5 comments, last by The_Con-Sept 6 years, 9 months ago

Hi everyone,

This is my first post, after lurking for some time I finally signed up.

I was looking for some advice and thought that maybe I could ask here for some help, in how to approach game development, 2D in this case.

I'm a programmer, I have been programming for 2/3 years or so, and I'm fairly confident in some of my skills, I've worked with Java mostly, a bit of C#, and a bit of Python, mostly in my spare time or small projects for work.

My experience with game development is fairly short, I had a Unity course in college, it was very short and not too complex, and with my final project, in which I made an endless runner, using LibGDX, but this was mostly following a tutorial.

The thing is, now I want to start again with game development, and I'm not sure what would be the best way to approach it in the long term.

Since I'm a bit experienced with programming, and I want to learn and understand a bit of what I'm doing, I didn't want to go with a full engine, like Unity or Unreal, and in my ignorance, since the project I want to make is something like a Zelda clone(A Link to the past) or a Metroidvania, I kept going back to frameworks.

I know of LibGDX since is the one I worked before (but there's always the stigma against Java), Monogame, which is the one I heard the most for published games (but I'm not sure how it compares to LibGDX in terms of how much low-level things you have to do), Haxeflixel and Love2D, of these two I don't know how low level they are, or what tools they have.