Advertisement

Make my acquaintance

Started by November 30, 2017 01:24 PM
2 comments, last by devbyskc 6 years, 9 months ago

Hi All!

I thought it was about time to become more actively engaged in the site and share my aspirations. First off, let me say that I am a senior citizen (I first learned to program using BASIC on a teletype machine using a time-share system at college [I went to Dartmouth and my intro Calculus class was taught by John Kemeny]). I got into game design/development as a hobby after playing around with making websites. I work full-time as a government contractor and have been for the past 13 years. My work hours and work environment has not really allowed me to get too deeply involved in the  process. Much of my time has been spent reading about game development; playing around with recommended software (and their tutorials); and having fun in the process with my new hobby. However i am now looking at retiring from full-time work and spending my retirement time making games. Nothing fancy or ambitious, but maybe something that will provide a supplement to my pension. As a start I have taken a more serious approach to making games. I've browsed this forum and noted a lot of advice from vets and I appreciate you taking your time to help us noobs. I will be doing everything myself, so I guess that categorizes me as a solo indie developer. In that respect, any advice for someone like me will be appreciated. Thanks for reading.

Skip

Airontina Studio

Hey dev,

Welcome to the community.   I am at a similar stage in my game development career.  I am working full time in writing software and I am also completing my degree.  I have been toying around with idea of making a game, but I really don't have to the time to sink my teeth into the learning process due to my other commitments.  The one piece of advice that I would give you or any new comer in an endeavor is to plot a path to success and focus.  Follow One Course Of action Until Successful.