Advertisement

Too Many Roads With No Map

Started by January 24, 2018 08:51 PM
5 comments, last by FresherLemons 6 years, 7 months ago

Hello, Everyone

I'm new to the world of programming, as I've just recently taken an interest in it and I've made a few leaps into some of the languages. For the longest time, my dream has been to work with a large game development company, however, I understand the distance of my current knowledge from achieving that goal.

I'm posting this thread because I was hoping some experienced vets out there can help start me on a path as to what I should be doing, as just stepping into this world is quite daunting with all of the choices. I would like to learn the basics of a language and then be able to apply it to a small project like creating my first simple game down the line. So far, I've fiddled with Python, Java, and MATLAB (for engineer courses). I wanted to learn C# so I start in Unity, but I can't seem to find any free tutorials to the language that are good. 

I don't have my mind dead set on what game engine or language I want to be using. I'd just prefer ones that pair well together.

Best advice I can give is to pick one of the above, and stick to it for a while.

Unity + C# is probably the quickest route to building polished games, but there are arguably fewer materials aimed at learning the basics of programming in that environment.

I'm personally fond of Pyglet + Python. Mostly applicable to 2D games, although 3D is possible in that environment. PyGame is also an option, and a tad more polished.

Tristam MacDonald. Ex-BigTech Software Engineer. Future farmer. [https://trist.am]

Advertisement
24 minutes ago, swiftcoder said:

Unity + C# is probably the quickest route to building polished games, but there are arguably fewer materials aimed at learning the basics of programming in that environment.

Are there any sources you'd recommend using for learning C#?