Advertisement

Study group

Started by January 30, 2018 06:57 PM
9 comments, last by Jacob McGivern 6 years, 7 months ago

Hi everyone,

Is there a website out there where people meet and learn to make games together? I know there are tons of educational resources available online, but I lack discipline if I'm learning anything by myself. I was thinking if I joined some kind of a study group, it'd be a funnier experience.

A little about me: I'm a software programmer and I work mostly on websites, backend stuff (database, server, etc). Lately I've been playing with Unity and found it it's a good platform to start with. I met a few people off Reddit to learn reactjs together and it was a good experience, so I was hoping to do the same with game dev.

Thanks! :)

hey redblue

I don't know any study group but i would gladly help you know a little bit more about unity and code (C#)

i am also new to all of this and will be happy to study with you 

goldenfoot

Advertisement

Thanks Golden Foot, I replied to your PM.

This guy posted 3 hours ago:  

and he seems to be in a similar place to you ... give him a shout out in his thread ...

Thank you, Xai, I really appreciate you stopping by here and letting me know. I replied to that thread :) 

RedBlue if you are looking for more of an academic experience I would recommend Coursera's Game Design and Development Specialization.  These courses provide structure and deadlines and they also have message boards where your cohort can interact.  The specializations uses Unity as a platform and the curriculum was developed by Michigan State University.  These courses run about 50 dollars  a class and there are 5 classes to complete the specialization.  I haven't taken this particular set of courses yet, but I did take the University of Colorado's XNA C# course on Coursera and found it to be quite good.  Here is a link to the specialization Click Here