Advertisement

Beginning to make games

Started by February 11, 2018 10:55 PM
6 comments, last by Ivorne 6 years, 6 months ago

i am just starting to learn c++ and i  want to know exactly which free engine will be okay for a beginner to make games

1 hour ago, chuksphil12 said:

i am just starting to learn c++

If C++ is the language you are set on then Unreal will be the easiest to learn engine; with that said it isn't the easiest engine to learn.

Unity is easier but uses C#, that is similar to C++.

Making your own small game with no engine is also possible and in some ways more rewarding than moving strait to an engine.

Advertisement
2 hours ago, chuksphil12 said:

i am just starting to learn c++ and i  want to know exactly which free engine will be okay for a beginner to make games

If you're just starting to learn C++ then I would avoid using Unreal for now because it's not a good way to learn general programming.

Pick up a good book like C++ Primer (5th Edition) (*not primer plus).  Once you've become pretty competent in the language itself, then move onto actual engines.

I usually recommend people know the following before starting game programming:

• Compiling, building
  • Basic program structure (main(), header includes ...)
  • Basic data types
  • Composite data types
  • Control structures (if, for, while ...)
  • Basic functions, function signatures
  • Function parameter passing
  • Classes and general OOP
  • STL - Standard Template Library
  • Dynamic memory allocation, pointers
  • Type casting
  • Advanced OOP, inheritance, polymorphism
  • Advanced program structure, header files, linking
  • Debugging techniques This is important to be able to help yourself when the situation arises.
  • Templates
  • Operator overloading
  • Namespaces
  • Move semantics and other C++11 features
  • Metaprogramming