Advertisement

Integrating Physics Into Rendering Engine

Started by July 01, 2018 08:56 PM
6 comments, last by 0r0d 6 years, 2 months ago

I'm currently a college student and have been working on a personal project for my own enjoyment.  I've completed a pretty wholesome rendering engine, and I was wondering what the best approach is for tying it to a physics engine.  Additionally I don't know whether or not it would be better to attempt to learn an existing engine, or just write my own physics.  

I know the question coming is "well what do you want to do with the engine?" to which I say general enough to be able to create 3D and 2D platforming/action adventure content..

I know this is vague; please ask me questions if I need to elaborate specifically!

Thanks so much, and sorry!

Additionally, Idk if my question goes here. I've made a few games on my own before in free engines, so I'm not exactly new to this, this is just my first time writing my own engine of sorts.  I wanted to most in a different forum, but it wouldn't let me, so here I am lul

Advertisement

Have you made a full game yet using a library or framework, even a simple one that contains a working game loop with a logic and draw state (Not something in a program like GameMaker that does this behind the scenes)? What is your current understanding of a full game loop? Have you used another library or framework before that handles logic, rendering, ect... in which you had to combine?

On 7/1/2018 at 2:56 PM, hpiper3097 said:

Additionally I don't know whether or not it would be better to attempt to learn an existing engine, or just write my own physics.

This depends on if you want to make the engine yourself at a low level, or if you're more concerned with having something in place quicker that allows you to work on your game. 'Better' is really subjective and more based on your current goals.

2 hours ago, hpiper3097 said:

I've made a few games on my own before in free engines