🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Arigato

Started by
10 comments, last by Kalero 5 years, 9 months ago

What's up everybody. The last time I posted here I got some very valuable feedback on a track. I also said I would come back when I had made something significantly better. This is it. 

Im still new to this (less than a year) and appreciate any listens or comments.

Peace 

Advertisement

Some fun elements here! It has a nice retro feel and vibe to it. I do wish there was a bit more dynamic variety between sections. For example, right now it feels like the bass part is playing in the same manner regardless if it's the full ensemble or just a piano soloing. Whereas a real bassist would probably change their attack and their patterns a bit more for the full(er) more complex sections. 

I liked some of the harmonic choices you made! The brass parts could stand to have a lot more automation on them to help those swells and hits really have more impact. Keep it up! Nice stuff!

Nathan Madsen
Nate (AT) MadsenStudios (DOT) Com
Composer-Sound Designer
Madsen Studios
Austin, TX

Now that you say it, it all makes more sense especially with dynamics and stuff. Thanks for the great insight as usual. 

You're welcome!

Nathan Madsen
Nate (AT) MadsenStudios (DOT) Com
Composer-Sound Designer
Madsen Studios
Austin, TX

Delightfully Japanese, I love the overall vibe, reminds me of the Katamari games. If I could change anything about it I would probably add a more punchy drum section and speed it up just a tad. I'm not on my reference monitors right now so I can't really comment on the mixing, but on my laptop speakers (which many people still use to play games with, even if it's not the best experience) it is solid!

Electronic Music Producer, Composer & Audio Engineer