🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

New Concepts - dynamic game stories

Started by
6 comments, last by llvllatrix 22 years ago
Just so u know, im a programmer, so im a bit wierd. Anyway, i was just about to go to sleep when i came up with an idea. Ive been trifiling for some time now, attempting to create a totally dynamic engine - one where the computer decides the story line. One problem, the computer has to be able to "think", and do it creatively for it to be able to even compare to u guys. Anyway i think i might have come up with a solution, but there are a few catches (excuse me if i get a bit technical here but i just want to explain what the catches are). A while back i read something on ANNs or artificial neural networks (simulate a brain). I thought, great an easier way to do artificial intelligence, but that was then. It just occured to me that i could not only use these networks to simulate the actions of my AI units, but i could also use them to define things like graphics and such. I could even take that concept a little further and use the output of every neural network as an input to another neural network. This would give you group intelligence. The creatures in your world would interact like a family. Heres the catch, their functions would be very limited. They would have no notion of common themes in stories, nor even what would make a good story. It would be like taking a player and sticking it in a heard of furbies that can learn, grow, and perhaps reproduce. There are also several choices involved here. On the one hand you could "hard code" several elements like a house for example can be seen as one structure with one purpose, and building it is instaneously possible. Or you could let this system start from scratch and "figure out" how to build one for itself. The neat thing