🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Looking for Career Advice

Started by
4 comments, last by vreality 12 years, 10 months ago
Hey all, this is my first post. I'm hoping to get a little advice in order to get the ball rolling in my career. I have a completed bachelors in Business Administration and a firm grasp of C# as a programming language. I'm learning about XNA now, and after I work through the two new books I have on XNA development, I'll be learning C++. My goal is to get into the industry as a programmer and, eventually, move into a designer/producer role. I'm putting together a portfolio as I learn, but I have an extensive art and music portfolio. Here is where I'm a little fuzzy...

Without the field-specific degree, what should my next move be in preparing for this career? I have a few options. I don't have knowledge of C++ yet, but I'm getting there. I think my best bet is through school, however I'm not sure which path to pursue. Is it worth it to tack on another BA/BS in Computer Science/Programming/Game Design? I could also pursue certificates or a smaller AA program. I feel like I'd need some sort of professional "look at me, I have basic programming skills" certification of sorts. I'm not sure if that is the case, however. I very much enjoy programming, more so than I enjoy graphics or music, which I am quite a bit more knowledgeable of at the current time.

I guess, besides pursuing more schooling, my other option would be to get a job in a studio utilizing my business degree and management skills, while I refine my programming skills. I'm very flexible, and have a GI Bill that will fund up to 36 more months of schooling. I'm not in a rush; I want to do this right. Any advice would be most helpful.
Advertisement
Moving to the Breaking In forum.

Wielder of the Sacred Wands